Abim District became functional on 1 July 2006. Prior to that, it was known as Labwor County in Kotido District. The district is composed of five sub-counties and one town council, Abim Town Council. Abim District covers an area of 2,353.3 square kilometres (908.6 sq mi). The district is part of the Karamoja sub-region, home to an estimated one million Karimojong. The sub-region consists of the following districts: 1. Abim District 2. Amudat District 3. Kaabong District 4. Kotido District 5. Moroto District 6. Nakapiripirit District and 7. Napak District. Abim District has got a wet and dry woodland savannah type of climate, characterized by an intensive hot season that lasts from December until February.


In 1991, the national population census estimated the district population at about 47,600. The national census in 2002 estimated the population of the district at approximately 51,800. The average annual population growth rate has been determined at 0.9%, between 2002 and 2012. In 2012, the population of Abim District was estimated at approximately 56,500.