Kumi District is bordered by Katakwi District to the north, Nakapiripirit District to the northeast, Bukedea District to the east, Pallisa District to the south, and Ngora District to the west.[1] The 'chief town' in the district is Kumi, which is located approximately 54 kilometres (34 mi)}, by road, southeast of Soroti, the largest town in Teso sub-region.[2] The coordinates of the district are:01 30N, 33 57E


In 1991, the national population census estimated the population of the district at about 102,030. The 2002 national census estimated the district population at approximately 165,400. The annual population growth rate in the district is given as 4.5%. In 2012, the population of Kumi District was estimated at about 255,500

Activities by District